TurboCAD Mac Forum

TurboCAD Mac Categories => Problems => Topic started by: pottypete on April 05, 2019, 07:32:07 AM

Title: Layers
Post by: pottypete on April 05, 2019, 07:32:07 AM
I have never had this issue before.

I imported a .png file and then using another layer traced the outline. Normally the tracing is on top of the .png file but now my lines all go back behind the .png layer.  I can easily select the .png layer and "Send to the Back" which solves the problem for lines already drawn.  However, as soon as I try and draw a new line on the other layer again the line is automatically sent to the back behind the .png image.

Any ideas?

Pete
Title: Re: Layers
Post by: mitchb on April 06, 2019, 12:49:25 PM
Quote
Normally the tracing is on top of the .png file but now my lines all go back behind the .png layer.

When did this change for you? I looked at V9 and that version puts the trace lines under the image. After loading the image select it and under the "Object Properties" "Display" tab click on "Transparency". Your trace lines should be easier to see and the amount of transparency can be adjusted using the "Opacity" slider under the "View" -> "Shade Options". Changing line color might give a better contrast with the image if the two colors are close.

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: Layers
Post by: pottypete on April 08, 2019, 02:40:00 AM
As always thanks for the prompt reply Mitch.

I am on version 10.0.3 can't remember when this version was updated on my computer last.  The problem has only been an issue in the past few weeks.

I have tried the transparency changes as suggested but still the problem occurs.  I have the png image showing, I trace a line on another layer or even on the same layer and the line disappears behind the .png image.

It is very frustrating and hard to work with.  I have to keep hiding the image and then selecting all the lines and then going to edit/arrange and bring to front.

Do you have any other ideas?

Pete
Title: Re: Layers
Post by: mitchb on April 08, 2019, 01:13:31 PM
Can you post an example file? I would have a better idea of what you are dealing with. To the best of my knowledge, nothing has changed and you say that this problem is new but you have not upgraded so it must be a setting. I'll take a look at your drawing and see what I can suggest.

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: Layers
Post by: pottypete on April 09, 2019, 02:37:56 AM
Hello Mitch

Very strange I have just started a new file and all is well.   Cannot understand but unless it returns I shall not bother you again on this one.

Your help and response is always very welcome and appreciated.

Pete