TurboCAD Mac Forum

TurboCAD Mac Categories => General Discussion => Topic started by: Tayyaba Ashraf on November 16, 2017, 11:18:46 PM

Title: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: Tayyaba Ashraf on November 16, 2017, 11:18:46 PM
Those who need the TurboCAD Mac working patch for macOS High Sierra, please contact us at support@imsidesign.com.

TurboCAD Mac versions older than 10 are not compatible with the Mac OS High Sierra. To use TurboCAD Mac on High Sierra, you need to upgrade your product to v10.


Thanks,
Tayyaba
IMSI Design
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: ArchitectDaveUK on November 24, 2017, 07:45:21 AM
Hi

I  upgraded to OS 10.13.1 and then upgraded from Mac DeLuxe  V9 to V10. So far so good. Everything seems to work, except when I dimension my existing drawings, the dimensions are all out by roughly a factor of 3 (ie. something that was previously dimensioned as 1.5m now comes up as 0.591m). The drawings still look the same on the page and I haven't amended anything. Is there an easy way to solve this and get them back so they are still the same size on a sheet of paper, but the dimensions come up the same as before? (sorry, don't know all the technical terms!) 

Sorry for a dumb question!

Dave
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: ArchitectDaveUK on November 24, 2017, 07:49:15 AM
Thinking about it its probably coming up in inches, so how do i change the dimensioning of existing metric drawings back to metric across the whole piece?
Dave
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on November 24, 2017, 02:39:48 PM
Dave,

You're right 1.5m = 59.0551 inches. Go to Preferences -> Units and set it for your metric unit of choice.

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: munromunro on November 29, 2017, 04:00:40 AM
Having problems here using Turbocad Designer 10 on a Mac with the new Hi Sierra upgrade, Turbocad just closes when i try and print or do other tasks, is there a solution?

cheers Dave

Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on November 29, 2017, 01:52:36 PM
You will need to upgrade to the current version of Designer. Here is the link:

http://www.csi-concepts.com/Demo/tc/tcdesigner10/TurboCADMacDesigner10_1354_WIP.dmg (http://www.csi-concepts.com/Demo/tc/tcdesigner10/TurboCADMacDesigner10_1354_WIP.dmg)

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: ArchitectDaveUK on December 06, 2017, 10:17:02 AM
Another quick query

Running Deluxe V10 for Mac. Just got a weird grey square with a green surround appeared. SEE SCREEN SHOT... How do I get rid of it? And what is it???

thanks
DAVE
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on December 06, 2017, 04:08:10 PM
It's either a surface or a filled polygon. If it's a surface you can just click on it and delete it, a filled polygon can be selected by clicking on an edge and deleting.

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: alanj-jones on March 01, 2018, 04:50:00 AM
I have Pro V10 on High Sierra. It appears to work  ok bar for one thing.  Having positioned a new part in relation to others in isometric view it is nowhere near in the right position when I view it in any other plane view.  Is there a fix for this?
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on March 01, 2018, 08:49:49 PM
Could you post a sample drawing?

When working in 3D, where an object appears to be and where it really is can be confusing. I advise users to change views often to make sure that an item really is where you think it is. The LogicCurser tends to follow the work plane until you get close to another object and then it snaps to that.

Enjoy
Mitch 
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: chappa-ai on March 10, 2018, 08:49:19 AM
TC crashes on High Sierra, will not launch. The upgrade link is dead. Very unprofessional all around.
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on March 10, 2018, 03:45:06 PM
Which link are you using, there is one here in the Patches & Upgrade thread or on the IMSI support site? Both links appear to be working. Are you having some other problem, like can't install or educational version error on launch?

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: chappa-ai on March 10, 2018, 08:16:00 PM
I am referring to your own post in this thread, post #5. The link doesn't work.

Also, at http://tcmacforum.imsisupport.com/index.php?topic=2798.0 (http://tcmacforum.imsisupport.com/index.php?topic=2798.0) the link for TurboCAD Mac Pro 10 is giving a Not Found error message.
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on March 10, 2018, 09:28:45 PM
That was for build 1354 and is now out of date - the current build is 1359 which can be found here in the Patches & Update thread or at the IMSI website as mentioned above.

Enjoy
Mitch



Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: chappa-ai on March 10, 2018, 09:30:25 PM
Okay, I finally found the download (an actual link would have been helpful) but my existing serial number and activation code do not work and it's saying I only have 30 days. I spent $400 on this application and should not have to re-purchase it simply because Apple made me "upgrade" my OS.
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on March 10, 2018, 10:46:28 PM
Quote
simply because Apple made me "upgrade" my OS.

I'm not upgrading yet due to the change in the file system that Apple will force on my MBP.

Versions before V10 will not be fixed for High Sierra. IMSI does have upgrade discounts and if you subscribe to their newsletter there are sales from time to time. Check the website or contact sales support. See the first post in this thread.

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: tdFTZ on April 12, 2018, 04:27:51 PM
On the topic of High Sierra:

APFS is optimized with solid state storage in mind. Think every device Apple makes other than the mainstream computing platform.

I don't see HFS Plus going away anytime soon. A spinning disc does not benefit from, and will actually suffer performance degradation over time with APFS. 

That said. it only converts the file system to APFS if the install target volume is on Solid State / Flash storage. (SSD/SD/TF/CF card, etc)

You can opt out too:

The key to that is to pass the option flag '--converttoapfs NO' to the installer when starting it up.

Open up a terminal session:

If you've got the "Install macOS High Sierra.app" in /Applications

Code: [Select]
/Applications/"Install macOS High Sierra.app"/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --converttoapfs NO --agreetolicenseor
Code: [Select]
/Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --converttoapfs NO --agreetolicense
..and paste that in at the prompt.

If you've got the Installer application somewhere else, have made a boot-able disc/flash/whatever out of it, then you can launch that one the same way:

Code: [Select]
mac # cd /Path/to/Installer

mac # /Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --converttoapfs NO --agreetolicense

...answer the rest of the prompts accordingly.


Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: mitchb on April 12, 2018, 05:45:01 PM
Quote
That said. it only converts the file system to APFS if the install target volume is on Solid State / Flash storage. (SSD/SD/TF/CF card, etc)

You can opt out too:

My MBP is SSD plus I use Time Machine for backup. The new file system is not optional for an SSD and it is not compatible with Time Machine unless my information is wrong/out of date. I am unsure of compatibility with USB and other removable drives. Until these issues are addressed I will not able to upgrade.

Enjoy
Mitch
Title: Re: TurboCAD Mac | macOS High Sierra 10.13.1
Post by: tdFTZ on April 12, 2018, 11:09:27 PM
The new file system is not optional for an SSD and it is not compatible with Time Machine unless my information is wrong/out of date.

If the install is invoked manually using the terminal method it will -NOT- touch the file system. I have plenty of high Sierra installs on SSDs formatted GUID Partition Table / HFS Extended format.

It does not ever do anything to any other volumes on the system. Ever.

As for Time Machine, the only issue there is that the Time Machine where the backups are placed can not be APFS.  An APFS volume can absolutely be backed up/restored with Time Machine, The root cause being that APFS does not support Hard Links and that is how Time Machine organizes access to unique entries.

Hard Links are a method of "aliasing" where there is more than one entry pointing to the same data in a file system. If you have Hard Link entries, the data occupied by the file will -NOT- be recovered as long as any other Hard Links to that same data are present. Where as with a Finder Alias, (Symbolic Link) you can delete the actual file and have any aliases remain as broken links.

The method that the disk is mounted is not relevant to APFS optimal performance. (USB, SATA, Firewire etc..)  Rather it is the medium. Flash/SSD volumes that are used strictly with Apple devices will benefit from APFS. Otherwise leave it alone.

Again, the -ONLY- time when file system conversion is even an issue is during an INITIAL install/upgrade, and will only happen if the volume is electronic based, unless the install was started with --convertoapfs NO enabled.

Likewise, the opposite is also true. You could force APFS on a volume during a High Sierra install/in place upgrade by specifying --converttoapfs YES .

That is the only time ever. Any Software Updates, e.g. 10.13.x to 10.13.x will NEVER change a file system.