TurboCAD Mac Forum

Register

New TurboCAD Mac 2D/3D Training Essentials

Simple fill and hatch problem - with attached file for review.
Read 142 times
* April 03, 2017, 08:26:37 PM
All -

I have been using TC Deluxe on the PC for many years, and have not been quite as stumped by such a simple problem. 

The drawing is in 2D, a basic flow diagram with some piping and valve symbols.  In the course of creating the drawing I have found myself struggling with simple fills and point hatching.  It seems that circles and polygons are treated differently in how the fills are created and when or if you can use point hatching.

There also seems to be a problem with simply setting the "arrange" order to bring fills to the front, especially when the objects are grouped.   Even moving the objects seems to cause fills to shift position or revert to a different order.   

I have also found that within a circle using the point hatch to fill a quadrant (defined by two intersecting lines) ... that if I change my mind and change colors of the fill pattern ... a brand new entity shows up in the inspector that tracts those changes.   

Could someone PLEASE take a look at the attached test file, and see what I could do differently.   The goal is to have a simple "ball valve symbol" that I can GROUP and use over and over in my drawings ... either on top of colored backgrounds or not.  If there is a simple way to do it ... I am all ears.

Thanks for the help.   I am very frustrated and have searched the forums and online manuals to no avail.

* April 04, 2017, 12:29:11 PM
I'm not familiar with the CAD symbol you want so this is my best guess based on your description.

It seems that circles and polygons are treated differently in how the fills are created and when or if you can use point hatching.