TurboCAD Mac Forum

Register

New TurboCAD Mac 2D/3D Training Essentials

How to make dimensions of an appropriate size for a very small component
Read 234 times
* February 16, 2019, 03:53:18 PM
I am new to dimensioning. I have drawn a component around 5mm x 2mm containing lots of detail. Now I want to dimension it.

I have been through the step by step tutorial and can see on pages 3 and 4 how I'm meant to be able to alter text size, including how to change the default settings. I must be missing something as I don't seem to be able to make it work and can't get the text or numbers to be anywhere a suitable size for the drawing.

My workspace is of course massively enlarged so the component fills half the screen - and I wonder if this is the source of my difficulty.

I hope someone can help as I'm stuck on this - and the dimensioning tools look good to use!

Andrew

* February 16, 2019, 09:10:20 PM
For dimension sizes smaller or larger than the provided defaults click on User and enter the needed size. Once all the parameters for a dimension are set up, right click on the dimension and click on "Set Default".

Enjoy
Mitch

* February 17, 2019, 04:41:11 AM
Thanks Mitch, but how or where do I 'click on User'. Probably seems like a very dumb question!

Andrew

* February 17, 2019, 09:47:58 AM
In the Inspector -> dimension Properties -> Font tab Size. Open the dropdown list and find it at the bottom.

Enjoy
Mitch

* February 28, 2019, 11:14:14 AM
Thanks mitch. I can do what you suggest when simply writing text to the drawing, writing with 0.08mm text and successfully making that the default.

Problems arise, though, when I use the smart dimension tool or the horizontal or vertical dimension tools. I can go through the same sequence for setting the text size for use with these tools - but every time, the size drops back to 0.000. Not surprisingly, no dimensions appear when I try to add dimensions to my drawing. Is there some step I'm missing?